Visiting
Madeira wine, read from its own specification

The short answer
Madeira is a fortified wine with a Protected Designation of Origin covering the Região Demarcada da Madeira — Madeira and Porto Santo — controlled by IVBAM. Its specification names Sercial, Verdelho, Boal, Malvasia and Terrantez, dry to sweet, and sets two ageing routes: canteiro, aged in wood, and estufagem, heated in vessels.
Madeira wine PDO registration date
24 December 1991
File PDO-PT-A0038, EU id EUGI00000007659. Product category three, vinho licoroso. Applicant of record: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, I.P.
European Commission, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Sercial — dry
below 1.5
Sweetness class 'Seco / Sercial' in the caderno de especificações.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Verdelho — medium dry
between 1 and 2.5
Sweetness class 'Meio-seco / Verdelho'. Rainwater sits in the same band.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Boal — medium sweet
between 2.5 and 3.5
Sweetness class 'Meio-doce / Boal'.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Malvasia (Malmsey) — sweet
above 3.5
Sweetness class 'Doce / Malvasia'. Extra-seco, below 0.5, sits at the opposite end and carries no grape name.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Canteiro — minimum time in wood
two consecutive years
The specification says 'envelhecido em madeira' for a minimum of two consecutive years. A four-year figure is sometimes quoted for it; that conflates this minimum with the separate sales embargo.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 202619 more sourced figures on this page
Canteiro — sales embargo after the last fortification
36 months
Where fortification took place during fermentation, the count cannot begin before 1 January of the year following the harvest.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Estufagem — maximum temperature
50 °C
A ceiling, not a target. The specification sets no lower bound and does not specify the vessel material.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Estufagem — minimum duration
90 days
Measured from the start of the heating, which must be notified to IVBAM, as must its end.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Estufagem — earliest sale
at least 12 months after the estufagem, and never before 31 October of the second year following the harvest
Two conditions, both of which must be met.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Acquired alcoholic strength
at least 17% vol and no more than 22% vol
The band the finished wine must sit in.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Total alcoholic strength
at least 17.5% vol
Acquired plus potential alcohol.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Minimum strength for shipment, by exception
15.5% vol
Only with IVBAM authorisation, and only for wine shipped or exported.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Fortifying spirit — minimum strength
96% vol
Neutral wine spirit, álcool neutro de origem vínica, added during and/or after fermentation.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Minimum natural alcoholic strength of the must
9% vol
Musts below this may not be used for Madeira wine.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Maximum yield
80 hectolitres of must per hectare
A low ceiling relative to most European appellations.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Age indications the specification recognises
5, 10, 15, 20, 30 and over 40 years
A closed list. Nothing between those steps is a recognised indication.
Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Blandy's Wine Lodge stock
over 650 barrels and vats
Stated on the lodge's own tours page.
Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Blandy's Lodge Tour (entry level)
€17.00
Published price list. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the visit.
Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Blandy's Premium Tour
€23.00
Forty-five minutes, covering the cooperage, canteiro ageing rooms, satinwood vats and museum, ending in a tasting of three Madeira wines.
Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Blandy's Vintage Premium Tour
€59.00
Published price list.
Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Blandy's Private Tour
€150.00 per person
Maximum four people.
Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Fifteen-year Madeira by the glass, Funchal restaurant
€17.00
Kampo, Funchal — Fanal Fajã das Contreiras 15, Sercial and Verdelho, on the restaurant's published menu.
Kampo, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Thirty-year Madeira by the glass, Funchal restaurant
€47.00
Kampo, Funchal — Justino's Old Series 30, on the restaurant's published menu.
Kampo, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026EU-registered names carrying the word Madeira
8
Queried directly against the European Commission's eAmbrosia register on 26 August 2026 using the search term 'Madeira'. Madeira wine is one of them.
European Commission, 2026 · check it · read August 26, 2026Off the island, the usual first encounter with the name is a splash in a pan sauce. That is a strange fate for a wine whose production rules run to an eight-page legal specification, whose ageing is measured in decades, and which may not be sold at all until years after the harvest that made it.
Everything below comes from the caderno de especificações for the Denominação de Origem Madeira, the document that defines the wine in law, together with the European register entry it maps to. Where the wine trade repeats something the specification does not say, that is flagged rather than smoothed over, and it happens more than once.
What the name is protected as
Madeira is registered in the European Union as a Protected Designation of Origin, file PDO-PT-A0038, in product category three: vinho licoroso, a liqueur or fortified wine. It was registered on 24 December 1991, source: European Commission, 2026, read August 26, 2026. The registration covers a list of language variants — Vinho da Madeira, Madère, Vin de Madère, Madera, Madeira Wein, Madeira Wine, Vino di Madera and Madeira Wijn, so the protection follows the name across the languages it is sold in.
The demarcated area is the Região Demarcada da Madeira: the islands of Madeira and Porto Santo. Not a sub-district, not a slope. It is narrower than the Autonomous Region, which also takes in the uninhabited Desertas and Selvagens. The national legal basis is Decreto Regulamentar Regional n.º 16/2002/M, de 18 de Novembro, which is regional legislation, not mainland legislation. This is one of the places where Madeira genuinely does have its own rules rather than an inherited copy of somebody else's.
The controlling body is the Instituto do Vinho, do Bordado e do Artesanato da Madeira — IVBAM. The specification requires producers to notify IVBAM of the start and the end of both ageing processes, and IVBAM may take samples for analysis in its own laboratory. That is what separates a controlled designation from a marketing claim: somebody is entitled to turn up and test the wine.
The four noble grapes, and the fifth one
The tourism board calls Sercial, Verdelho, Bual and Malvasia the noble four. The specification is less tidy: it gives full varietal descriptions for five grapes, adding Terrantez, and it lists twenty authorised varieties in total.
Each of the four classic names is also a sweetness class. A bottle labelled Sercial is dry because the specification defines the Sercial style as dry, measured on the Baumé scale.
| Grape | Style in the specification | Baumé |
|---|---|---|
| Sercial | Seco, dry | below 1.5, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 |
| Verdelho | Meio-seco, medium dry | between 1 and 2.5, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 |
| Boal (Bual) | Meio-doce, medium sweet | between 2.5 and 3.5, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 |
| Malvasia (Malmsey) | Doce, sweet | above 3.5, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 |
| Terrantez | May be dry, medium dry, medium sweet or sweet | no single class |
The specification's own tasting notes are worth reading, because they describe the same wine ageing rather than four separate wines. Sercial: pale with golden reflections that intensify with age, dried fruit and wood, dry and firm with a finish that lengthens as the wine gets older. Verdelho: pale to golden, moving to topaz and light amber, dried fruit, wood and spice, balanced acidity. Boal: amber deepening with age, dried fruit, wood, caramel and vanilla, softening as it ages. Malvasia: deep amber, raisin and molasses, honey, caramel, spice and chocolate, with acidity held in balance by the sugar.
Tinta Negra is the grape that carries most of the volume, and the specification treats it differently. It appears in the authorised variety inventory as Tinta Negra N, and it is given no varietal tasting note at all. Two further named classes exist without a grape attached: Extra-seco, drier than Sercial, and Rainwater, which sits in the same Baumé band as Verdelho.
Estufagem and canteiro: two ways of ageing a wine with heat
Every other fortified wine tries to keep heat and oxygen away. Madeira is built on both. What distinguishes the two production routes is where the heat comes from.
Canteiro
Canteiro wine is fortified during or immediately after fermentation and then aged in wood for a minimum of two consecutive years, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. The name is from the wooden beams the casks rest on, in the upper floors of the lodges, where the sun does the work slowly and for as long as anyone leaves it there.
The commercial gate is separate from the ageing minimum: canteiro wine may only be sold 36 months, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 after the last fortification, and where the fortification happened during fermentation, that count cannot begin before 1 January of the year following the harvest.
A four-year minimum circulates for canteiro. The specification does not say that. It sets two years in wood and a thirty-six-month sales embargo, which are different requirements measured from different starting points, and collapsing them into a single four-year rule is where the error comes from. The specification is the document that governs.
Estufagem
Estufagem is the industrial route. After fortification the wine is held in vessels at a temperature not exceeding 50 °C, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for a period never shorter than 90 days, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. It may then be sold at least 12 months after the estufagem, and never before 31 October of the second year following the harvest, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026.
Two details that appear all over the wine literature are not in the specification: that estufagem happens in stainless steel tanks, and that the temperature has a lower bound around forty-five degrees. The specification caps the temperature and sets a minimum duration. It does not specify the vessel material and it sets no lower temperature limit.
Canteiro is also an authorised traditional mention, so it may legally appear on a label. Estufagem is a process, not a label term.
Strength, yield and what is allowed in
Madeira is a fortified wine and the specification is precise about how fortified. Acquired alcoholic strength must be at least 17% vol and no more than 22% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, and total alcoholic strength at least at least 17.5% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. There is one exception, and it needs permission: with IVBAM authorisation the wine may be shipped or exported at a minimum acquired strength of 15.5% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026.
The fortifying spirit is neutral wine spirit, álcool neutro de origem vínica, of at least 96% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, added during and/or after fermentation. The musts must reach a minimum natural alcoholic strength of 9% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 before anything else happens. Maximum yield is 80 hectolitres of must per hectare, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, which is a low ceiling by the standards of most European appellations and one of the reasons the wine is not cheap.
What the label is allowed to say
The specification lists the traditional mentions that may appear on a Madeira label, and nothing outside that list may. The first group is the designation itself: vinho generoso, denominação de origem controlada, denominação de origem.
The second group is the one that matters on a shelf: Superior, Solera, Reserva, Leve, Garrafeira, Frasqueira, Fino, Escuro, Escolha, Colheita Selecionada and Canteiro. Frasqueira and Garrafeira sit at the top of that list in practice, and Canteiro on a label means the ageing route described above rather than a quality tier.
Age statements are also a closed list. The recognised indications are 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 and over 40 years, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. A bottle claiming an age outside those steps is claiming something the specification does not recognise.
Where the vines actually grow
The specification names three training systems: latada, the pergola that holds the fruit overhead and lets something else grow underneath it; espaldeira, the wire trellis; and vinha no chão, the vine trained along the ground. All three are worked by hand because the alternative does not exist on that gradient.
The document also names the landform the vines sit on: poios, the terraces cut into slopes too steep to farm otherwise. The terracing is not scenery. It is the engineering that makes the agriculture possible at all, and the same technique carries the bananas on the south coast and the vegetables above Câmara de Lobos. The same slopes decide where anyone can build a house.
Tasting it on the island
The lodges in central Funchal are the straightforward route. Blandy's Wine Lodge, on Avenida Arriaga, has been in the same family across seven generations, ages by the canteiro method, and states on its own site that the lodge holds over 650 barrels and vats, source: Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026, read August 26, 2026. Its guided tours run every day in five languages and each one ends in a tasting; the route covers the cooperage, the canteiro ageing rooms, the Brazilian satinwood vats and the family museum.
The published tour prices run from €17.00, source: Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for the entry-level lodge tour, €23.00, source: Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for the forty-five-minute premium tour that ends in a tasting of three wines, €59.00, source: Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for the vintage premium tour, up to €150.00 per person, source: Blandy's Wine Lodge, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for a private tour capped at four people. The lodge recommends booking ahead and warns on its own site that email replies can take more than two days.
In a restaurant the wine is priced by age, steeply. Kampo in Funchal publishes a by-the-glass list where a fifteen-year Sercial and Verdelho is €17.00, source: Kampo, 2026, read August 26, 2026 and a thirty-year is €47.00, source: Kampo, 2026, read August 26, 2026. The gap between those two glasses is the clearest statement anyone will find of what the ageing regime costs to run.
Desarma, one of Madeira's two One-MICHELIN-Star restaurants, is described by the MICHELIN Guide as holding one of the world's best selections of Madeira wines in its cellar. What to eat alongside it is in the eating and drinking guide.
How this page was sourced, and what failed
The primary source is the caderno de especificações for the Denominação de Origem Madeira, an eight-page PDF published by the Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, the national wine institute, downloaded and read in full on 26 August 2026. Every rule on this page, the Baumé bands, the ageing minimums, the alcohol limits, the label mentions, is in that document.
IVBAM's own website and its wine portal were both under maintenance or refusing connections that day. That is worth saying rather than hiding, because it explains why the citations point at the national institute rather than the regional one. The specification published by IVV is the same legal document, and it names IVBAM as the control authority, so the substance is unaffected.
The European register entry, EUGI00000007659, was read directly from the European Commission's eAmbrosia database. Madeira wine is one of 8, source: European Commission, 2026, read August 26, 2026 names carrying the word Madeira on that register, and the full list, including two spirits, is set out in the guide to Madeira's protected food names.
Questions people actually ask
What are the four noble grapes of Madeira wine?
Sercial, Verdelho, Boal and Malvasia, dry, medium dry, medium sweet and sweet, in that order. The tourism board calls them the noble four. The DOP specification actually gives varietal descriptions for five, adding Terrantez, and lists twenty authorised varieties in total. Tinta Negra carries most of the volume and is given no varietal tasting note in the specification at all.
What is the difference between estufagem and canteiro?
Where the heat comes from. Canteiro wine is aged in wood in the warm upper floors of a lodge for a minimum of two consecutive years, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, and cannot be sold until 36 months, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 after the last fortification. Estufagem is heated deliberately, in vessels held at no more than 50 °C, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 for at least 90 days, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, and can be sold at least 12 months after the estufagem, and never before 31 October of the second year following the harvest, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026.
How strong is Madeira wine?
Acquired alcoholic strength must be at least 17% vol and no more than 22% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, with total alcoholic strength of at least 17.5% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. The fortifying spirit is neutral wine spirit of at least 96% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026. There is a single exception: with IVBAM authorisation, wine may be shipped or exported at 15.5% vol, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026.
What does Frasqueira mean on a Madeira label?
It is one of the traditional mentions the specification allows on the label. The permitted list is closed: Superior, Solera, Reserva, Leve, Garrafeira, Frasqueira, Fino, Escuro, Escolha, Colheita Selecionada and Canteiro. Age statements are a closed list too, 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 and over 40 years, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026, so a bottle claiming an age between those steps is claiming something the specification does not recognise.
Who controls Madeira wine?
IVBAM, the Instituto do Vinho, do Bordado e do Artesanato da Madeira. The specification requires producers to notify IVBAM of the start and end of both the canteiro and the estufagem processes, and IVBAM may take samples for analysis in its own laboratory. The demarcated area is the Região Demarcada da Madeira — the islands of Madeira and Porto Santo — and the underlying regional legislation is Decreto Regulamentar Regional n.º 16/2002/M.
Does canteiro Madeira have to be aged for four years?
No. That figure is repeated across the wine trade and is not in the specification, which sets two consecutive years, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 in wood and a separate sales embargo of 36 months, source: Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho, 2026, read August 26, 2026 from the last fortification. Those are two different clocks starting at two different points, and merging them into one four-year rule is where the mistake comes from.
Where this came from
- Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho: Caderno de especificações — Denominação de Origem Madeira (PDO-PT-A0038), 8-page PDF read in full. ivv.gov.pt/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/DO_Madeira.pdf Read August 26, 2026.
- Instituto da Vinha e do Vinho: Regiões vitivinícolas — Madeira. ivv.gov.pt/regioes-vitivinicolas/madeira/ Read August 26, 2026.
- European Commission: eAmbrosia — Madeira / Vinho da Madeira, EUGI00000007659. ec.europa.eu/agriculture/eambrosia/geographical-indica Read August 26, 2026.
- Madeira Islands Tourism Board (visitmadeira.com): Madeira wine — the source for the phrase 'the noble four'. visitmadeira.com/en/what-to-do/food-and-wine-enthusiasts/m Read August 26, 2026.
- Blandy's Wine Lodge: Tours and published prices. blandyswinelodge.com/tours/ Read August 26, 2026.
- Kampo: Menu — Madeira wine by the glass. kampo.pt/menu/ Read August 26, 2026.
- MICHELIN Guide: Desarma — cellar described as one of the world's best selections of Madeira wines. guide.michelin.com/pt/en/ilha-da-madeira/funchal/restaurant/ Read August 26, 2026.
- European Commission: eAmbrosia — geographical indications register. ec.europa.eu/agriculture/eambrosia/geographical-indica Read August 26, 2026.